Please note: This content is originally written in German. An automatic translation is shown below.
Note: This content is only available in English. The original content is shown.

Security at Ricardo: How to fend off fraud attempts

For Ricardo, the security of the platform has always been essential. That's why they put hours of manual work into identifying fraud attempts and fraudulent offers. Caroline Nef from Ricardo and Dominic Herzog from TX Group joined forces to implement an efficient and automated process.

Objectives and Implementation

At first, the problem had to be identified and described. The focus was mainly on the time required to manage the previous security tool, which was too high at around 60 hours per week.

They wanted to reduce manual work by at least 30% while identifying and blocking at least the same amount of fraud attempts.

An in-house solution was the only option for Ricardo. This way the costs could be kept lower and the internal data processing know-how could be secured.

Human and Machine Resources

Part of the challenge was to optimize the existing security and fraud tools to identify fraud attempts. In order to further develop these tools efficiently, the long-standing know-how of the employees was taken into account. In this way, already identified patterns could be added to the tool's algorithm and it did not have to learn them first. This procedure enabled the machine learning to concentrate on the recognition of additional patterns, and rule adjustments no longer had to be made manually.

Ricardo could not predict to what extent the chosen methods could actually help achieve the set goals. It was also important that all customer service employees could understand the new rules. Therefore the process had to be documented understandably.

Decision Trees Meet the Target

Improvements have been made in the area of account linking, which makes it more difficult for a banned user to create a new account. Additional rules have been created for behaviour that experienced customer service representatives have identified as indicative of fraud. For example, potential fraud accounts often do not use their own images of the item being offered, do not accept cash on collection and often sell trendy items at disproportionately low prices.

The internally trained "Random Forest" model (for more information on the model: link), analyzes user behaviour on the platform. This "Random Forest" approach is a classification procedure and consists of a large number of individual, uncorrelated decision trees that work together. Each tree in the Random Forest generates a prediction about the group to which a user behaviour belongs. The user behaviour is assigned to the group with the most predictions.

The model's input data includes buying and selling activity, profile data changes, ratings, browsing behavior, and more. Through this approach, 80% of potential fraud cases are successfully assessed by the model in an automated manner and only about 10 cases per hour need to be forwarded to customer service for manual review.

Automation made the fraud process more efficient and potential fraud attempts are evaluated more quickly.

Over the project period of 6 months, the number of cases to be reviewed was reduced by 75 per cent. The time spent on manual checks by customer service staff was also slightly more than halved. In fact, slightly more fraudulent accounts were identified and blocked than before.

Together Against Fraudsters

The hybrid approach has proven to be very efficient. Ricardo was able to build on the knowledge of the customer service staff and transform their human pattern recognition into meaningful rules. Subsequently, the training of the model could specialize in assessing the conspicuous user accounts. Using the Random Forest model, the algorithm's decisions could be reproduced. This was very important for the customer service, especially in the beginning, since the employees have to justify the blocking of a user account to the customer. Last but not least, the whole process was characterized by a close collaboration between the data science team of TX Group and Ricardo's customer service. Short feedback loops made it possible to continuously adjust parameters without flooding the essential customer service tools. This way, even in case of unplanned events, customers were not affected at all.

More blog articles

Jobs with TX Markets

We're looking for talents. Always.

Techies, geeks, masterminds or project heroes: at TX Markets, people with passion and skills will find exciting jobs in an ambitious environment.

Please note: This content is originally written in German. An automatic translation is shown below.
Hinweis: Dieser Inhalt ist nur in Englisch verfügbar. Der original Inhalt wird gezeigt.

Sicherheit bei Ricardo: Wie Betrugsversuche abgewehrt werden

Für Ricardo war die Sicherheit der Plattform schon immer essenziell. Deshalb steckten sie Stunden manuelle Arbeit in die Identifizierung von Betrugsversuchen und betrügerischen Angeboten. Caroline Nef von Ricardo und Dominic Herzog von der TX Group haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um mit vereinten Kräften einen effizienten und automatisierten Prozess zu implementieren.

Zielsetzung und Umsetzung

Zuerst musste das Problem identifiziert und beschrieben werden. Ganz klar im Mittelpunkt stand der Zeitaufwand der Bearbeitung des bisherigen Sicherheits-Tools, der mit ca. 60 Stunden pro Woche zu hoch war.

Die manuelle Arbeit wollten sie um mindestens 30% verringern und gleichzeitig mindestens gleich viel Betrugsversuche zu identifizieren und blockieren.

Für Ricardo kam von Anfang an lediglich eine Inhouse Lösung in Frage, da so die Kosten tiefer gehalten werden konnten, zudem aber auch das interne Know-How bzgl. der Datenverarbeitung sowie der Schutz der Vertrauenswürdigen gesichert werden konnte.

Menschliche und maschinelle Ressourcen

Ein Teil der Herausforderungen war die Optimierung der bestehenden Sicherheit- und Fraud Tools, um Betrugsversuche zu identifizieren. Um diese Tools effizient weiter zu entwickeln, wurde das langjährige Know-How der Mitarbeitenden berücksichtigt. So konnten bereits identifizierte Muster in den Algorithmus des Tools gespielt werden und dieser musste diese nicht erst erlernen. Dieses Vorgehen ermöglichte es, dass sich das maschinelle lernen auf die Erkennung zusätzlicher Muster konzentrieren konnte, sowie dass Regelanpassungen nicht mehr manuell erfolgen mussten.

Ricardo konnte auch nicht vorhersagen in welchem Masse die gesetzten Ziele mit den gewählten Methoden erreicht werden konnten. Es war zudem wichtig, dass alle Kundendienstmitarbeiter die neuen Regeln nachvollziehen konnten und somit musste der Prozess auf verständliche Weise dokumentiert werden.

Mit Entscheidungsbäumen ans Ziel

Im Bereich der Verknüpfung von Benutzerkonten wurden Verbesserungen gemacht, welche es einem gesperrten Nutzer erschwert, ein neues Konto anzulegen. Für Verhalten, welches die erfahrenen Kundendienstmitarbeiter als Anzeichen für einen Betrug(sversuch) identifiziert haben, wurden zusätzliche Regeln erstellt. Potenzielle Betrügerkonten verwenden beispielsweise oft keine eigenen Bilder des angebotenen Artikels, akzeptieren keine Barzahlung bei Abholung und verkaufen oft Trendartikel zu unverhältnismässig tiefen Preisen.

Durch das intern trainierte “Random Forest”-Modell (für mehr Informationen zum Modell: Link) wird das Benutzerverhalten auf der Plattform analysiert. Dieser “Random Forest” Ansatz ist ein Klassifikationsverfahren und besteht aus einer grossen Anzahl von einzelnen, unkorrelierten Entscheidungsbäumen, die zusammen arbeiten. Jeder einzelne Baum im Random Forest generiert eine Vorhersage zur Gruppe, zu welcher ein Nutzerverhalten gehört. Das Nutzerverhalten wird der Gruppe mit den meisten Vorhersagen zugeteilt.

Die Inputdaten des Modells umfassen Kauf- und Verkaufsaktivitäten, Änderungen der Profildaten, Bewertungen, Browsing-Verhalten und vieles mehr. Durch diesen Ansatz werden 80% der potenziellen Betrugsfälle vom Modell erfolgreich automatisiert bewertet und nur rund 10 Fälle pro Stunde müssen an den Kundendienst zur manuellen Prüfung weitergeleitet werden.

Die Automatisierung machte den Fraud-Prozess effizienter und kann schneller mögliche Betrugsversuche evaluieren.

Über den Projektzeitraum von 6 Monaten, konnte die Anzahl der zu überprüfenden Fälle um 75 Prozent reduziert werden. Auch die Arbeitszeit für die manuelle Überprüfung durch die Mitarbeitenden des Kundendienstes wurde etwas mehr als halbiert. Dabei wurden sogar leicht mehr betrügerische Konten identifiziert und gesperrt also zuvor.

Zusammen gegen Betrüger

Der hybride Ansatz hat sich als sehr effizient erwiesen. Ricardo konnte auf das Wissen der Kundendienst Mitarbeitenden aufbauen und deren menschliche Mustererkennung in bedeutsame Regeln transformieren. Anschliessend konnte sich das Training des Modells darauf spezialisieren, die auffälligen Benutzerkonten zu beurteilen. Mittels des Random Forest Modells konnten die Entscheidungen des Algorithmus nachvollzogen werden. Dies war für den Kundendienst gerade anfangs sehr wichtig, da die Mitarbeitenden die Sperrung eines Benutzerkontos gegenüber den Kunden vertreten müssen. Nicht zuletzt war der ganze Prozess geprägt von einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Data-Science Team der TX Group und dem Kundendienst von Ricardo. Durch kurze Feedback-Loops konnte man die Parameter laufend anpassen, ohne die essentiellen Tools des Kundendienstes zu fluten. So waren auch bei ungeplanten Ereignissen die Kunden keineswegs betroffen.

Weitere Blog-Artikel

December 9, 2020
 • 
Lesedauer: 7 Minuten
Jobs bei TX Markets

Wir suchen Talente. Immer.

Ob als Techie, Geek, Mastermind oder Project-Hero: Leute mit Herzblut und Skills finden bei uns spannende Jobs in einem ambitionierten Umfeld.