Please note: This content is originally written in German. An automatic translation is shown below.
Note: This content is only available in English. The original content is shown.

"There's a need for more courage and determination to take decisions" – an interview with Romy Schnelle of High-Tech Gründerfonds

Romy Schnelle is a partner at High-Tech Gründerfonds, the leading early-stage investor in Germany, and Chair of the newly established Investment Committee at TX Group. She tells us what she is most looking forward to in the collaboration and how she assesses the start-up scene in Europe.

How did this collaboration with the TX Group come about, and what motivated you to take on this commitment?

Romy Schnelle: When setting up the Investment Committee, it was important to TX Group to appoint an independent expert from the market. I am very pleased that I was chosen for this role. My motivation for this role is to support the transforming TX Group in making good investment decisions. This is to create value and build future business in the medium to long term. So far, in my role as a partner at HTGF, I have made decisions free of history and corporate DNA.

What are you particularly looking forward to as Chair of the Investment Committee?

I'm looking forward to diving into the decision-making fundamentals of the TX Group and gaining insights into the diverse perspectives of the companies and startups, so that the best possible decisions for the Group can be made. I believe it's important not only to take short-term decisions, but also decisions that will generate return in the medium term – or for even longer.

What do you find fascinating about the international startup scene?

In my view, the startup scene is powered by the dynamic and rapid emergence of new technologies, business models and markets. Building companies up from scratch – and now, in my position, supporting them with know-how, networks and capital – these are things that have always fascinated me.

Which qualities do you regard as important for a successful startup?

The team is crucial to the success of a startup. It's essential for the team to consist of individuals with a background of experience, skills and shared values. Readiness to change and implementation strength are decisive factors in this context.  

It goes without saying that an excellent team won't achieve much with a mediocre idea. The team needs a strong idea as the basis for validating the market, the customer feedback, the business model, and the approaches it will adopt so that the potential can be tapped. The focus on customer satisfaction in combination with an attractive business model for the startup are further success factors.

What advice would you give to founders on choosing their financing partners?

On this point, my advice is always to think holistically and take the medium-term view so as to arrive at the correct decision.

How do you regard the prospects for the startup scene in Europe as compared to the rest of the world?

The markets in Europe appear to be very fragmented as compared to the USA, due to factors such as language barriers and national borders. This is definitely a challenge, but one that can be viewed as an opportunity, too – because it also raises the market entry barriers for other players. Access to capital continues to present another challenge, even though some positive development trends are already emerging in this regard.

Generally speaking, there are plenty of good ideas, novel technologies and innovations. But as I see it, what is still lacking in many cases is entrepreneurial spirit. There's a need for more courage and determination to take decisions here – because these are the qualities that are required to found a company.

About the Investment Committee of the TX Group

Through the Investment Committee, the TX Group – and therefore TX Markets – is stepping up its involvement in the startup sector and over the coming years, the Group will increase its investments in innovative digital business models. More information in the media release.

Strategic investor, long-term partner: TX Markets

TX Markets invests in start-ups and leading marketplaces in Greater Europe. You can find more information about our strategy on our homepage.

More blog articles

Jobs with TX Markets

We're looking for talents. Always.

Techies, geeks, masterminds or project heroes: at TX Markets, people with passion and skills will find exciting jobs in an ambitious environment.

Please note: This content is originally written in German. An automatic translation is shown below.
Hinweis: Dieser Inhalt ist nur in Englisch verfügbar. Der Originalinhalt wird gezeigt.

"Es benötigt mehr Mut und Entscheidungswille" - Romy Schnelle vom High-Tech Gründerfonds im Interview

Romy Schnelle ist Partnerin des High-Tech Gründerfonds, dem führenden Frühphaseninvestor in Deutschland und Vorsitzende des neu gegründeten Investment Committee der TX Group. Sie erzählt uns, auf was sie sich bei der Zusammenarbeit am meisten freut und wie sie die Start-up-Szene in Europa beurteilt.

Wie kam es zur Zusammenarbeit mit der TX Group und was hat Sie zu diesem Engagement motiviert?

Romy Schnelle: Der TX Group war es beim Aufsetzen des Investment Committee wichtig, diese mit einer unabhängigen Expert*in aus dem Markt zu besetzen. Es freut mich sehr, dass hierfür die Wahl auf mich gefallen ist. Meine Motivation für diese Rolle ist es, die sich transformierende TX Group dabei zu unterstützen, gute Investitionsentscheide zu treffen. Damit sollen mittel- bis langfristig Wertschöpfung erzielt und zukünftige Geschäftsfelder aufgebaut werden. Bislang habe ich in meiner Rolle als Partnerin beim HTGF Entscheidungen frei von Historie und Corporate DNA getroffen.

Auf was freuen Sie sich als Vorsitzende des Investment Committee besonders?

Ich freue mich darauf, mich in die Entscheidungsgrundlagen der TX Group sowie in die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven der Unternehmen und Startups einzudenken, um die bestmöglichen Entscheidungen für die Gruppe treffen zu können. Es ist mir wichtig nicht nur kurzfristige, sondern mindestens mittelfristig renditeträchtige Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Was fasziniert Sie an derinternationalen Startup-Szene?

Die Dynamik und Schnelligkeit, mit der neue Technologien, Geschäftsmodelle und Märkte entstehen, sind für mich die Treiber der Start-Up-Szene. Von Null auf Unternehmen aufzubauen und auch jetzt in meiner Position diese mit Know-how, Netzwerk und Kapital zu unterstützen, das fasziniert mich bis heute.

Welche Qualitäten Sind aus Ihrer Sicht wichtig für ein erfolgreiches Startup?

Das Team ist entscheidend für den Erfolg eines Start-ups. Die Zusammensetzung aus Erfahrungshintergründen, Kompetenzen und gemeinsamen Werten sind essenziell. Veränderungsbereitschaft und Umsetzungsstärke sind dabei entscheidende Erfolgsfaktoren.  

Ein exzellentes Team mit mittelmässiger Idee geht natürlich nicht. Das Team braucht eine starke Idee, von der aus die Validierung des Marktes, des Kundenfeedbacks, des Geschäftsmodells, der Zugänge und damit der Potenziale erfolgen kann. Weitere Erfolgsfaktoren sind die Fokussierung und Ausrichtung auf die Kundenzufriedenheit in Verbindung mit einem attraktiven Geschäftsmodell für das Start-Up.

Welchen Rat geben Sie GründerInnen bei der Auswahl ihrer Finanzierungspartner?

Ich rate hier immer dazu, ganzheitlich und mittelfristig zu denken, um richtig zu entscheiden.

Wie sehen Sie die Perspektiven der Startup-Szene in Europa im Vergleich mit dem Rest der Welt?

Die Märkte in Europa erscheinen im Vergleich zu den USA beispielsweise durch die Sprachbarrieren und Ländergrenzen sehr fragmentiert. Dies ist bestimmt eine Herausforderung, welche aber auch als Chance gesehen werden kann, weil dies die Markteintrittsbarrieren für andere Marktteilnehmer ebenfalls erhöht. Eine weitere Herausforderung ist nach wie vor der Zugang zu Kapital, auch wenn es hierzu bereits positive Entwicklungstrends gibt.

Es gibt grundsätzlich viele gute Ideen, neuartige Technologien und Innovation. Jedoch fehlt es in meinen Augen noch oft an Unternehmergeist. Es benötigt hier mehr Mut und Entscheidungswille, denn das wird zur Gründung eines Unternehmens benötigt.

Über das Investment Committee der TX Group

Die TX Group und damit auch TX Markets intensiviert mit dem Investment Committee das Engagement im Start-up-Bereich und wird in dennächsten Jahren verstärkt in innovative digitale Geschäftsmodelle investieren. Mehr Informationen in der Medienmitteilung.

Strategischer Investor, langfristiger Partner: TX Markets

TX Markets investiert in Start-ups und führende Marktplätze im Grossraum Europa. Mehr Informationen über unsere Strategie findest du auf unserer Startseite.

Weitere Blog-Artikel

Jobs bei TX Markets

Wir suchen Talente. Immer.

Ob als Techie, Geek, Mastermind oder Project-Hero: Leute mit Herzblut und Skills finden bei uns spannende Jobs in einem ambitionierten Umfeld.