Media release

Jobs for astronauts and parastronauts advertised on jobs.ch

4.5.2021 11:32

jobs.ch sends candidates to the moon: After 12 years, the European Space Agency (ESA) is once again looking for astronauts, including in Switzerland. For the first time ever, the ESA is also recruiting a "parastronaut", a professional astronaut with a physical disability. Potential astronauts can apply easily via jobs.ch until the end of May.

The dream job of many children and adults is in reality reserved for a select few: Astronaut! After more than ten years, the European Space Agency (ESA) is once again looking for astronauts. Several positions are advertised on jobs.ch, and applications from Switzerland with its internationally competitive education system are welcome.  

Four to six career astronauts are being sought, who will work as permanent ESA staff and perhaps even fly to the moon. In addition, ESA is creating a pool of around 20 "project astronauts" who will continue to work in their traditional jobs until ESA lets them fly to other space destinations - including the ISS - for shorter missions if required. Anyone who wants to succeed Claude Nicollier, the first and so far only Swiss in space, can apply online in a straightforward and simple way. "By supporting this exciting talent search, we want to show that it pays to leave your own comfort zone when looking for a job," says Davide Villa, CEO of JobCloud, the operator of jobs.ch. 

Opportunities for people with disabilities

This has never happened before: for the first time ever, ESA is also looking for "parastronauts", people with physical disabilities. They have the chance to become part of the initiative "Parastronaut Fly! In this way, ESA is investigating the feasibility of putting a professional astronaut with a physical disability into space for the first time in human history. If the initiative is successful, the first "parastronaut" mission into space may soon be launched.


An exciting opportunity for physicians and MINT graduates

The future Swiss astronaut will enjoy three years of training with the ESA, with the possibility of longer stays in the USA and Russia. Potential space missions head for destinations such as the ISS or the moon. In addition to the actual space missions, there are also exciting tasks to be performed on the ground, for example in mission support or in the development of international spaceflight. The space traveller has the honourable task of representing Europe and Switzerland in international space travel and, in the process, bringing the subject of space travel closer to the people.

The job advertisement states what is required: a Master's degree in a STEM subject, a medical degree or a STEM Bachelor's degree and experience as a test pilot or test engineer, three years of relevant professional experience and language skills. This is the basis for the three-year program that prospective astronauts and astronauts then go through at ESA. "It's not that impossible to become an astronaut. There are people on the market who meet the requirements," says Villaweiter. Of course, the willingness to work irregular hours and to spend longer periods away from home are part of the job - after all, you have to tackle a commute that is out of this world.

If a career in space doesn't work out, jobs.ch currently offers 70,000 other jobs from 9,000 companies - most of which are located on "Planet Earth".

Information on astronaut jobs at jobs.ch/astronauts

 

About JobCloud AG

JobCloud is the leading digital company in the Swiss job market and offers various recruitment solutions. In addition to leading job portals such asjobs.ch, JobScout24.ch and jobup.ch, the portfolio also includes promising technologies. For example, JobCloud owns 100% of JoinVision E-Services in Vienna, the leading provider of multilingual semantic recruiting technologies. JobCloud was founded in 2013 and is owned by Ringier and TX Markets. JobCloud currently employs 200 people in Zurich and Geneva.  

About the European Space Agency (ESA)

ESA is Europe's gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe's space capabilities and ensure that investment in space continues to bring benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. ESA is an international organisation with 22 member states. By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, it can carry out programmes and activities that go far beyond the capabilities of any single European country.

Contact

Rebekka Hänggi, Tel. 044 560 70 12
rebekka.haenggi@jobcloud.ch, www.jobcloud.ch

Attachments
Images
No items found.
Pictures (English)
No items found.
Jobs with TX Markets

We're looking for talents. Always.

Engineers, data analysts, marketing experts, product specialists and many more: here at TX Markets, people with passion and skills will find exciting jobs in an ambitious environment.

Medienmitteilung

Stellen für Astronautinnen und Parastronauten auf jobs.ch ausgeschrieben

4.5.2021 11:32

jobs.ch schickt Kandidat*innen auf den Mond: Die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA sucht nach 12 Jahren wieder Astronauten und Astronautinnen, auch in der Schweiz. Zum ersten Mal überhaupt stellt die ESA zudem einen «Parastronauten» ein, einen Berufs-Astronauten mit körperlicher Beeinträchtigung. Bewerben können sich potenzielle Raumfahrer*innen noch bis Ende Mai ganz einfach über jobs.ch.

Der Traumberuf von vielen Kindern und Erwachsenen ist in der Realität nur wenigen Auserwählten vorbehalten: Astronaut*in! Nach über zehn Jahren sucht die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA wieder Astronauten und Astronautinnen. Auf jobs.ch sind gleich mehrere Stellen ausgeschrieben, Bewerbungen aus der Schweiz mit ihrem international wettbewerbsfähigen Bildungssystem sind willkommen.  

Gesucht werden vier bis sechs Karriere-Astronaut*innen, die als festes ESA-Personal arbeiten und vielleicht sogar zum Mond fliegen. Daneben schafft die ESA einen Pool von rund 20 «Projekt-Astronaut*innen», die in ihren angestammten Berufen weiterarbeiten, bis sie die ESA bei Bedarf für kürzere Missionen zu anderen Zielen im Weltraumfliegen lässt – unter anderem zur ISS. Wer die Nachfolge von Claude Nicollier, dem ersten und bisher einzigen Schweizer im Weltall, antreten will, kann sich unkompliziert und einfach online bewerben. «Mit der Unterstützung dieser spannenden Talentsuche möchten wir aufzeigen, dass es sich lohnt, bei der Jobsuche auch mal seine eigene Komfortzone zu verlassen», so Davide Villa, CEO von JobCloud, der Betreiberin von jobs.ch. 

Chancen für Menschen mit Beeinträchtigungen

Das gab es noch nie: Die ESA sucht zum ersten Mal überhaupt auch nach «Parastronaut*innen», Menschen mit körperlicher Beeinträchtigung. Sie haben die Chance, Teil der Initiative «Parastronaut Fly!» zu werden. Damit untersucht die ESA die Machbarkeit, erstmals in der Geschichte der Menschheit eine Berufs-Astronautin oder einen Berufs-Astronauten mit körperlicher Beeinträchtigung ins All zubringen. Verläuft die Initiative erfolgreich, startet vielleicht schon bald die erste «Parastronauten»-Mission in den Weltraum.


Eine spannende Möglichkeit für Ärzte und MINT-Absolventen

Die künftigeSchweizer Astronautin oder der neue Schweizer Astronaut geniesst eine dreijährige Ausbildung der ESA mit der Möglichkeit längerer Aufenthalte in den USA und in Russland. Potenzielle Raumfahrtmissionen steuern Ziele wie die ISS oder den Mond an. Neben den eigentlichen Space Missions gibt es auch am Boden spannende Aufgaben zu erfüllen, etwa im Mission Support oder in der Entwicklung der internationalen Raumfahrt. Die Raumfahrerin oder der Raumfahrer hat die ehrenvolle Aufgabe, Europa und die Schweiz in der internationalen Raumfahrt zu repräsentieren und dabei das Thema Raumfahrt den Menschen näher zu bringen.

Was es dafür braucht, steht im Stelleninserat: einen Master-Abschluss in einem MINT-Fach, einen Medizin-Abschluss oder einen MINT-Bachelor und Erfahrung als Testpilotin oder Test-Ingenieur, drei Jahre fachrelevante Berufserfahrung und Sprachkenntnisse. Das ist die Basis für das dreijährige Programm, welches angehende Astronauten und Astronautinnen anschliessend bei der ESA durchlaufen. «Es ist gar nicht so unmöglich, Astronaut*in zu werden. Denn es gibt durchaus Personen auf dem Markt, die den Anforderungskriterien entsprechen», meint Villaweiter. Die Bereitschaft zu unregelmässigen Arbeitszeiten und längere Periodenn icht zu Hause zu verbringen gehören natürlich dazu – schliesslich gilt es einen Arbeitsweg in Angriff zu nehmen, der nicht von dieser Welt ist.

Sollte es mit der Karriere im Weltall doch nicht klappen, finden sich auf jobs.ch zurzeit 70'000 andere Jobs von 9'000 Unternehmen – die meisten davon mit Arbeitsort «Planet Erde».

Informationen zu den Astronauten-Jobs unter jobs.ch/astronauten

 

Über JobCloud AG

JobCloud istdas führende digitale Unternehmen im Schweizer Stellenmarkt und bietetverschiedene Rekrutierungslösungen an. Neben den führenden Jobportalen wiejobs.ch, JobScout24.ch und jobup.ch gehören auch zukunftsträchtige Technologienzum Portfolio. So besitzt JobCloud 100% an JoinVision E-Services in Wien, demführenden Anbieter mehrsprachiger semantischer Recruiting-Technologien.JobCloud wurde im Jahr 2013 gegründet und gehört den beiden Unternehmen Ringierund TX Markets. JobCloud beschäftigt heute 200 Mitarbeitende in Zürich undGenf.  

Über die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (ESA)

ESA ist das Tor Europas zum Weltraum. IhreAufgabe ist es, die Entwicklung der europäischen Raumfahrtkapazitäten zugestalten und sicherzustellen, dass Investitionen in die Raumfahrt den Bürger*innenEuropas und der Welt auch weiterhin Vorteile bringen. Die ESA ist eineinternationale Organisation mit 22 Mitgliedsstaaten. Indem sie die finanziellenund intellektuellen Ressourcen ihrer Mitglieder koordiniert, kann sie Programmeund Aktivitäten durchführen, die weit über die Möglichkeiten eines einzelneneuropäischen Landes hinausgehen.

Kontakt

Rebekka Hänggi, Tel. 044 560 70 12
rebekka.haenggi@jobcloud.ch, www.jobcloud.ch

Anhänge
Bilder
No items found.
Bilder (Englisch)
No items found.
Jobs bei TX Markets

Wir wollen die Zukunft der Technologie gestalten… Steig jetzt bei uns ein!

Engineers, Daten-Analytiker, Marketing-Experten, Produkt-Spezialisten und ganz viel mehr: Leute mit Herzblut und Skills finden bei uns spannende Jobs in einem ambitionierten Umfeld.