Media release

Flexible working hours are more important to Swiss employees than flexible working location

21.4.2021 11:38

More than 8 out of 10 Swiss employees want flexibility in terms of working hours, which is significantly above the global average of all countries surveyed. On the other hand, only one in ten Swiss respondents dream of a complete remote office - which is significantly below the international average. In addition, sustainability and diversity in the workplace are becoming increasingly important. This is shown by the international job market study Global Talent Study, which was conducted in cooperation between Boston Consulting Group, The Network and JobCloud (jobs.ch / jobup.ch). 

As part of the Global Talent Study 2020, the working habits and needs of employees in 190 countries were analysed and compared. Thanks to a cooperation with JobCloud, the leading Swiss company in the job market, it was also possible to take a closer look at Switzerland.

One third of Swiss respondents would like fully flexible working hours

When it comes to working hours, people in Switzerland are particularly demanding: a full 84% would like to be able to benefit at least partially from flexible working hours. Globally, "only" 64% have this wish. 31% of all respondents in Switzerland would even appreciate complete flexibility, which is 10% more than the global average. In contrast, only 16% in Switzerland prefer fixed working hours (36% globally). "Flexible working time models are already established in Switzerland, but employers' willingness to do so still needs to increase significantly. This requires precise planning and a healthy dose of trust in employees. Flexible working hours also offer an opportunity for employees to be active when they are most productive and creative," says Davide Villa, CEO of JobCloud.

Every eleventh person no longer wants to return to the office

Flexible working location is also increasingly becoming an issue, not least due to the COVID 19 crisis. For the future, more than half of the respondents in Switzerland would like to have the option of 2 to 3 days of "remote work" per week. "Remote work does not necessarily have to take place at home. If the conditions are right, employers should also consider allowing employees to work in a coworking space, a holiday home or a quiet café. This can significantly increase employee motivation," explains Daniel Kessler, Head of Switzerland at the Boston Consulting Group

However, when it comes to full remote work, Swiss employees - just like in almost all other industrialized countries - are more conservative than the global average. While a quarter of respondents worldwide can imagine working exclusively remotely, only 9% in Switzerland can. In contrast, 14% of Swiss respondents do not require the option of remote work, compared to 11% globally. In developing countries such as the Philippines or in many African countries, more than 40% of respondents could be enthusiastic about full mobile-flexible working.

Relationship with the team is most important to employees

The fact that most employees in Switzerland would like to return to the office, at least to some extent, is also confirmed by the fact that in the Global Talent Study, the relationship with work colleagues is seen as the most important value in the job. In second place on the wish list is an appropriate work-life balance, which in turn corresponds to the desire for great flexibility in working hours. In third place is a good relationship with the supervisor.

Lack of climate protection and tolerance as a reason not to work for an employer

The Global Talent Study also looked at employees' expectations of employers and the workplace. This clearly shows that climate protection and sustainability have become more important in the last year, as 7 out of 10 respondents confirm. A good 51% of people worldwide and 53% of Swiss respondents would not want to work for an employer that does not meet their expectations in terms of sustainability. Another important topic is diversity in the workplace. Around two-thirds believe that diversity and inclusion have become more important in the past year, and more than half would turn away from an employer who did not uphold these values. Incidentally, the younger the respondents, the higher the values.

To the media releases 

About the study

The "Decoding Global Talent" study is based on surveys of over 108,000 employees and job seekers in more than 190 countries in October 2020. Using a 40-question questionnaire, the participants were asked about a wide range of topics relating to the topic of "working abroad".

About JobCloud AG

JobCloud is the leading digital company in the Swiss job market and offers various recruitment solutions. In addition to leading job portals such as jobs.ch, JobScout24.ch and jobup.ch, the portfolio also includes promising technologies. For example, JobCloud owns 100% of JoinVision E-Services in Vienna, the leading provider of multilingual semantic recruiting technologies. JobCloud was founded in 2013 and is owned by Ringier and TX Markets. JobCloud currently employs 200 people in Zurich and Geneva. 

About The Network

The two portals of JobCloud, jobs.ch and jobup.ch, are members of the global alliance of leading job markets. The Network comprises around 60 job portals that have a leading market position in over 130 countries.

About Boston Consulting Group

Boston Consulting Group works with business and community leaders to address their most critical challenges and seize their greatest opportunities. BCG works closely with clients to take a transformative approach that benefits all stakeholders - enabling companies to grow, achieve sustainable competitive advantage and make a positive impact on society. With offices in more than 90 cities in over 50 countries, the company is wholly owned by its directors. Globally, BCG generated revenues of $8.6 billion in 2020 with 22,000 employees.

Contacts

JobCloud, Rebekka Hänggi
T +41 44 560 70 12, rebekka.haenggi@jobcloud.ch

Boston Consulting Group, Matthias Haymoz
M +41 79 373 87 00, haymoz.matthias@bcg.com

 

Attachments
Images
No items found.
Pictures (English)
No items found.
Jobs with TX Markets

We're looking for talents. Always.

Engineers, data analysts, marketing experts, product specialists and many more: here at TX Markets, people with passion and skills will find exciting jobs in an ambitious environment.

Medienmitteilung

Flexible Arbeitszeit ist den Schweizer Arbeitnehmenden wichtiger als flexibler Arbeitsort

21.4.2021 11:38

Mehr als 8 von 10 Schweizer Arbeitnehmenden wünschen sich Flexibilität in Bezug auf die Arbeitszeit, was deutlich über dem globalen Durchschnitt aller befragten Ländern liegt. Auf der anderen Seite träumt nur jede(r) zehnte Schweizer Befragte(r) vom kompletten Remote Office – und ist damit deutlich unter dem internationalen Schnitt. Zudem nehmen Nachhaltigkeit und Diversität am Arbeitsplatz einen immer grösseren Stellenwert ein. Das zeigt die internationale Arbeitsmarkt-Studie Global Talent Study, die in Zusammenarbeit zwischen Boston Consulting Group, The Network und JobCloud (jobs.ch / jobup.ch) entstanden ist. 

Im Rahmen der Global Talent Study 2020 wurden die Arbeitsgewohnheiten und-bedürfnisse von Arbeitnehmenden in 190 Ländern analysiert und verglichen. Dank einer Kooperation mit JobCloud, dem führenden Schweizer Unternehmen im Stellenmarkt, konnte dabei auch ein genauer Blick auf die Schweiz gemacht werden.

Ein Drittel der Schweizer Befragten möchte vollständig flexible Arbeitszeiten

Beim Thema Arbeitszeiten zeigt man sich in der Schweiz besonders anspruchsvoll: Ganze 84% wünschen sich die Möglichkeit, mindestens teilweise von flexiblen Arbeitszeiten profitieren zu können. Global gesehen hegen «nur» 64% diesen Wunsch. 31% aller Befragten in der Schweiz würden sogar eine vollständige Flexibilität schätzen, das sind um 10% mehr als der weltweite Durchschnitt. Im Gegensatz dazu bevorzugen nur 16% in der Schweiz fixe Arbeitszeiten (global 36%). «Flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle sind in der Schweiz bereits etabliert, die Bereitschaft der Arbeitgeber dazu muss aber noch deutlich steigen. Dazu braucht es eine genaue Planung und eine gesunde Portion Vertrauen an die Mitarbeitenden. Flexible Arbeitszeiten bieten auch dahingehend eine Chance, dass die Mitarbeitenden genau dann aktiv sein können, wenn sie am produktivsten und kreativsten sind», so Davide Villa, CEO von JobCloud.

Jede elfte Person will nicht mehr zurück ins Büro

Auch der flexible Arbeitsort wird zunehmend zum Thema, nicht zuletzt aufgrund der COVID-19-Krise. Für die Zukunft wünscht sich mehr als die Hälfte der Befragten in der Schweiz die Möglichkeit von 2 bis 3 Tagen «Remote Work» pro Woche. «Remote Work muss nicht unbedingt in den eigenen vier Wänden stattfinden. Wenn die Bedingungen stimmen, sollten Arbeitgeber auch die Möglichkeit in Betracht ziehen, den Mitarbeitenden die Tätigkeit im Coworking-Space, im Ferienhaus oder in einem ruhigen Café zuerlauben. Das kann die Motivation der Mitarbeitenden erheblich steigern,» erklärt Daniel Kessler, Schweiz-Chef der Boston Consulting Group

Geht es jedoch um vollständige Remote Work, sind die Schweizer Arbeitnehmenden – genau wie in fast allen anderen Industriestaaten – konservativer als der weltweite Durchschnitt. Während sich weltweit ein Viertel der Befragten vorstellen können, ausschliesslich remote zu arbeiten, sind es in der Schweiz nur 9%. Im Gegensatz dazu benötigen 14% der Schweizer Befragten keine Möglichkeit zu Remote Work, global gesehen sind es 11%. In Entwicklungsländern wie den Philippinen oder in vielen Ländern Afrikas könnten sich mehr als 40% der Befragten für vollständiges mobil-flexibles Arbeiten begeistern.

Beziehung zum Team ist den Mitarbeitenden am wichtigsten

Dass die meisten Mitarbeitenden in der Schweiz zumindest teilweise wieder zurück ins Büro möchten, bestätigt auch die Tatsache, dass bei der Global Talent Study die Beziehung zu den Arbeitskolleg*innen als wichtigster Wert im Job angesehen wird. Auf Platz 2 der Wunschliste steht eine angemessene Work-Life-Balance, was wiederum dem Wunsch nach grosser Flexibilität in der Arbeitszeit entspricht. An dritter Stelle steht ein gutes Verhältnis mit der oder dem Vorgesetzen.

Fehlender Klimaschutz und Toleranz als Grund nicht für einen Arbeitgeber tätig zu sein

Die Global Talent Study beschäftigte sich auch mit den Erwartungen der Mitarbeitenden gegenüber den Arbeitgebern und dem Arbeitsplatz. Daraus ist deutlich zu erkennen, dass Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit im letzten Jahr an Bedeutung gewonnen haben, wie 7 von 10 Befragten bestätigen. Gut 51% der Menschen weltweit und 53% der Schweizer Befragten möchten nicht für einen Arbeitgeber tätig sein, der nicht ihren Vorstellungen bezüglich Nachhaltigkeit entspricht. Ein weiteres wichtiges Thema ist die Diversität am Arbeitsplatz. So sind etwa zwei Drittel der Meinung, dass Diversität und Inklusion im vergangenen Jahr wichtiger geworden sind und mehr als die Hälfte würde von einem Arbeitgeber absehen, der diese Werte nichtl ebt. Übrigens: Je jünger die Befragten, desto höher die Werte.

Zu den Medienmitteilungen 

Über die Studie

Die Studie «Decoding Global Talent» basiert auf Befragungen von über 108’000 Arbeitnehmenden und Arbeitssuchenden in über 190 Ländern im Oktober 2020. Anhand eines 40 Fragen umfassenden Fragebogens wurden die Teilnehmenden zu verschiedensten Themen rund um das Thema «Arbeit im Ausland» befragt.

Über JobCloud AG

JobCloud ist das führende digitale Unternehmen im Schweizer Stellenmarkt und bietet verschiedene Rekrutierungslösungen an. Neben den führenden Jobportalen wie jobs.ch, JobScout24.ch und jobup.ch gehören auch zukunftsträchtige Technologien zum Portfolio. So besitzt JobCloud 100% an JoinVision E-Services in Wien, dem führenden Anbieter mehrsprachiger semantischer Recruiting-Technologien. JobCloud wurde im Jahr 2013 gegründet und gehört den beiden Unternehmen Ringier und TX Markets. JobCloud beschäftigt heute 200 Mitarbeitende in Zürich und Genf. 

Über The Network

Die beiden Portale der JobCloud, jobs.ch und jobup.ch, sind Mitglieder der weltweiten Allianz führender Stellenmärkte. The Network umfasst rund 60 Stellenportale, die in über 130 Ländern eine führende Marktposition haben.

Über Boston Consulting Group

Boston Consulting Group arbeitet mit führenden Persönlichkeiten aus Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zusammen, um ihre wichtigsten Herausforderungen zu meistern und ihre grössten Chancen zu nutzen. BCG arbeitet eng mit Kunden zusammen,um einen transformativen Ansatz zu verfolgen, der allen Stakeholdernzugutekommt – und der Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt, zu wachsen, nachhaltige Wettbewerbsvorteile zu erzielen und einen positiven Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft auszuüben. Das Unternehmen mit Büros in mehr als 90 Städten in über 50 Ländern befindet sich im alleinigen Besitz seiner Geschäftsführer. Weltweit erwirtschaftete BCG im Jahr 2020 mit 22‘000 Mitarbeitenden einen Umsatz von 8,6 Milliarden US-Dollar.

Kontakte

JobCloud, Rebekka Hänggi
T +41 44 560 70 12, rebekka.haenggi@jobcloud.ch

Boston Consulting Group, Matthias Haymoz
M +41 79 373 87 00, haymoz.matthias@bcg.com

 

Anhänge
Bilder
No items found.
Bilder (Englisch)
No items found.
Jobs bei TX Markets

Wir wollen die Zukunft der Technologie gestalten… Steig jetzt bei uns ein!

Engineers, Daten-Analytiker, Marketing-Experten, Produkt-Spezialisten und ganz viel mehr: Leute mit Herzblut und Skills finden bei uns spannende Jobs in einem ambitionierten Umfeld.